Everyone Has One

“Lord, make us courageous”.  This song is playing right now on my laptop, and I often wonder if we live courageous lives? Maybe you are not a Christian, maybe you are.  This applies to everyone, though.  Let’s face it, the Bible is full of common sense “stories”, it is in it’s essence.. truth.  If we really take time to read the Bible, we see that nothing that we go through now is new under the sun – our daily struggles have lived in the past.  I have often struggled with living a courageous life.  I have doubted myself, I have questioned my abilities in my school, work, and social life.  Everyone has their flaws, and this is one of mine.  I know that the Lord has a reason for this, He has a reason for creating me with certain abilities and inabilities… better put.. certain strengths and weaknesses and I also understand that He creates everyone differently because we were all placed on this beautiful earth for a certain purpose.  Some of us are great cooks (NOT me haha), some of us are great at speaking, and some of us love serving others.. that is the category that I am realizing I am in.  The Lord has given me this gift to serve, and in writing this blog.. I hope to serve you all in daily, weekly or monthly inspiration.  I also know that (again) we may not all be Christians, but what I do understand and LOVE about our society is that we all agree that we have a certain purpose and THAT is wonderful.  Without purpose… well, why are we here? We have no reason to be here if we do not inhabit a purpose and act on it.

Since I was 15, I have been blessed with a burden for people – for people that I hardly know and strangers.  It is so odd, so not natural to be burdened for a stranger, but I look at people and I see the hurt.. I see the pain, the need, the struggle and I can’t do anything about it.  I can pray, I can extend a helping hand, but I can’t be there daily for that person and it makes me sad, it honestly overwhelms me.  If I could, I would help and serve everyone because for me to see a smile is worth an endless amount of material items.  I know I have typed about this before, but this is the very reason that I volunteer my time to coach for the YMCA.  I volunteer NOT to feel good about myself, but to help others feel wonderful about themselves and to be Christ to others.  When I see players interact with each other and enjoy it all while enjoying volleyball – I can’t help but to be happy, more so to be humbled that I am able to be a vessel of hope and joy to others.

Throughout your day, take a second to look at a complete stranger and smile at them.  Take a second to open the door for an elderly person that you do NOT know.  Take a second to buy an American soldier a meal.  YOU can make a difference and you ALONE may not be able to make a difference in America, but when people work together.. just like a team.. we ALL make a difference, one by one – baby steps, little by little.  This isn’t a sermon, I am not a pastor.. I am just a person who truly cares for the person who is next to me.  Be courageous.

You know what song comes to mind when I think about all of this? This is going to sound super silly, but I am going to put myself out there.. I mean, it is the internet after all.

This is SO true.  I mean, if we all put just a little love in our hearts and if we all gave just a little love away daily.. this world would be a better place, by far! Now I kinda feel like listening to this song, and I think I may in a bit. 🙂 Plus, it is a cool jam to dance around to in front of your mirror in your room.  Oh… you don’t do that? Me either.

I encourage you to live a courageous life.  Show your pearly whites!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

