Let’s Talk Fitness

Hey y’all! Hope your Monday was fantastic!

So tonight I wanted to share with you lovely people what my typical gym day looks like! Let’s go!

I woke up this morning thinking that I was going to drive my parent’s to my dad’s doctor’s appointment, but instead my mother urged me to stay home and said she would be okay driving him.. as my mother wished.  I thought… Well, let’s get some sweat in.  I handled an errand, and my brother accompanied me to our neighborhood gym.  For starters, the gym receptionist was actually friendly – she usually has a bit of an attitude towards me for whatever reason.. all I ever do is smile and greet her.  I am in no way complaining! Maybe she read my blog post from yesterday.. she put a little love in her heart. 😉  Okay, so my gym days consist of about an hour and a half of weight training and with running about two hours. I typically start with weight training first.  I do this because I would rather have my run be one of endurance and mind over matter – so when I strength train first, I build muscle,  get my heart rate up for my run, tire myself out and still push through a run.

I am going to give you all a rough overview of the machines and then I’ll break everything down by reps/sets.

The first machine that I work on is the cable machine.  This piece of equipment intimidated me at first because of the complexity of it (or so I thought) and the fact that the majority of people that use these machines are males.. and they all gather together and it is just somewhat uncomfortable when you as a female don’t understand how to use the machine.  Thankfully, I have a brother who regularly goes to the gym with me so he showed me the ropes, at least of that workout machine.  Thanks Gee!  The cables are utilized for arm workouts and even oblique workouts.  When it comes to this machine, I focus on biceps, triceps and back shoulder muscles.

After I get a good sweat going on the cable machine, I will work out my back on this nifty piece that lingers next to the cable machine….

And then comes the fun part, weighted squats! This actually was SO exciting for me because today I PRed at 170 pounds; I typically squat 135 pounds! Woop woop! BUT when I first started squatting, I was only able to squat 65 pounds.  Hard work pays off!

Next up: Situps! How can we forget about the ONE exercise that everyone loves!? I do not like sit-ups, but they are classic and they DO work. I typically do sit-ups on a bench and have my brother stand in front of me, toss a medicine ball to me as I am reclining back and as I come back up, I toss the ball upright to him.

After my round of sit-ups, I will get to running on the treadmill BUT more so than not I am outside running.  I will usually do three miles or 30 minutes, whichever I feel like doing that day.  Three miles for me is about 26 minutes, so I mean doing 30 minutes is typically what I average.  Now, if I am interval training on the treadmill then I will run a shorter distance, but quicker; it all depends on what I have planned for that day! I end with chocolate milk. 🙂

Now for the breakdown:

Cable Machine Rows: 40 lbs x 15 reps x 5 sets

Cable Machine Triceps: 50 lbs x 15 reps x 5 sets

Cable Machine Biceps: 40 lbs x 15 reps x 5 sets

Back Machine: 20 reps x 4 sets

Weighted Squat Machine (Smith Machine): 135 lbs x 10 reps x 7 sets

Weighted Squat Machine Calf Raises: 135 lbs x 10 reps x 4 sets

Medicine Ball Sit Ups: 15 reps x 5 sets

Running: 3 miles or 30 minutes

Interval Running: 5 min. warm up, 5:30 sprint, 6:00 jog, 6:30 sprint, etc.  for 2 miles

So now that I have shared what I love to do at the gym, what is your form of exercise?

Thanks for taking your time to read this. 🙂

Elizabeth

18 thoughts on “Let’s Talk Fitness

    • Hi Maison Bentley! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I definitely was not able to work out like this two years ago, but hard work and perseverance pays off! Hope to see you around in my next posts. 🙂 Happy Wednesday!

  1. Wow, that’s some serious dedication. To answer your question, I work out at home. We have a “power station”, which is also a cable machine, but it’s also very hardcore on your legs. I try to do 10 to 20 minutes on the cable machine (I don’t count reps, but rather the time spent), then 40 to 50 minutes doing mat or body-weight exercise (from sit-ups, crunches, twists, and leg raises, to push-ups, and all manner of leg lifts, squatting, lunges, etc) and free weights.

    So far, my cardio has consisted of an elliptical work out… but hitting the road soon!

    You’re very right ~ perseverance does pay off 🙂

  2. Cole, I would love to have a cable machine at my house – so it’s great to hear that you have one! Your training schedule sounds intense also, especially the core workouts (my least favorite exercises ever!), yet almost all exercises NEED a strong core, so you’re right on track. The elliptical is great for building your endurance – once you get to running the road, you’re going to be thanking that elliptical of yoursl! Have fun on your first run! Keep me updated!

    • Thanks! Actually, yeah I have read that the Smith machine isn’t the best for you and have been meaning to transition to free weights. Thanks for the heads up 🙂 God bless you also!

    • Hey RunBikeThrow! I have yet to try crossfit or any workout similar to crossfit. Y’all are crazy! That is in a good way of course. 🙂 Keep on doing your thing! You’re welcome, and thank you. I look forward to your next post!
      -Elizabeth

  3. you should try out cable ab crunches and incline bench sit ups (passing a weighted ball to a friend and catching it)! I feel like they really burn my abs the next day more than regular sit ups and bicycles! I also add roman chair leg raises and weighted russian twists before/after too!

    • Thanks for the suggestions! I actually incorporate all of those exercises except for the cable ab crunches, that sounds intense! I’m going to google the proper form so I don’t look super silly!

      How much weight do you use for the Russian twists? Oh my word, those burn so good!

      • i started off with 5kg russian twists and actually found it easier to balance holding the sides of a plate than a ball but i guess the ball will help you more with your core’s stability? i do 10kg russians now (sometimes plate sometimes ball).

        Every now and then I change it up and do knee to elbows in a planking position or do elbow to knee ab crunches on the cable machine 🙂

        I know it feels really awkward being in that position doing the ab crunches but who cares, you’re making gains!! haha.

      • Awesome! Sounds like a killer workout. I also do 10 kg russians – I’m thinking about upping it to 15/20kg this week! I hate the burn, but I love it all at the same time! If you feel comfortable trying the 15kg plate, you should do it also and let me know how it goes for you!

        Haha, I completely know what you mean with awkward crunch positions. My cousin and I were just talking about that the other day at the gym! Thanks a bunch for the pointers – I’m definitely going to incorporate those ab workouts this week as well.

      • Every now and then I change it up and do knee to elbows in a planking position or do elbow to knee ab crunches on the cable machine 🙂

        I know it feels really awkward being in that position doing the ab crunches but who cares, you’re making gains!! haha.

  4. Hi Elizabeth!
    Just wanted to say I am almost done with my body needing the attention of some good nutrition as
    I am feeling better now. I now have to push to work muscles & get fit again. I love this post. so there!
    Rodney

Leave a Reply

