Toys for Tots 5k

Hey y’all! It has been a while since I have typed up a blog post, but here I am – back and better as ever! I actually have so much to update everyone on, but this post is going to be strictly a review of the  28th Annual Toys for Tots 5k that Johnny Purnell of Purnell Racing put on last weekend.  Here we go….

So the race started at 8:30, I arrived at Bluebonnet Palace (race location) at 8:00, which was plenty of time to pick up my race bib and check-in.  Check-in was located inside of the venue, which was perfect because that Saturday was a bit chilly! I checked in with two lovely volunteers, walked back to the truck to warm up a bit, then headed to the Start Line. On my way to the Start Line, I spotted about 50 runners getting warmed up, I thought it was a pretty nice group! Everyone was extremely friendly and welcoming.  Some seemed to know each other, but again – they made me feel super welcomed, like I was a cousin they hadn’t seen in a while!

IMG_7054

I was also able to talk with Mr. Johnny Purnell about the event, we shook hands, exchanged smiles and I proceeded to the Start Line. He is such a nice gentleman with a big heart! The below picture is of us post-race!

IMG_7077

Once there I met ScottyDog.  Who would’ve ever known that he, too, is also a blogger! He blogs on different races that he participates in.  He was a fun character to talk to!

IMG_7069

One volunteer sang the National Anthem – she has a gorgeous voice by the way! We honored the Colors and once she finished, we were off!

IMG_7055

Before the race, Johnny compared the route to a lollipop, and he nailed it! We ran up one stem, looped around, and came back down the same stem for a total of 5k.  The route was marked with arrows on the asphalt, which helped a ton – being I am horrible at directions, I was ecstatic to also see police and Junior Marines guiding the way.  There were two water stations as well! I didn’t take a drink, but I did see plenty of others stop to take a small drink of water. I think if I wasn’t chewing on gum, then I would’ve totally had to stop for a drink of water.  The course had a couple of nice inclines, just enough to remind your thighs that you are in fact running, but it definitely wasn’t overbearing!

IMG_7058

I completed the race in 28 minutes – I subbed 30, which is always my goal for a 5k! After I ran past the Finish Line (which doubled as the Start Line) – good ol’ Happy Santa Clause was waiting for all of the runners with a smile, bottle of water, and a banana! It was so nice to see Santa Clause – and here I thought he wasn’t real.  🙂

IMG_7063

Oh and as the runners passed the Line, our names and numbers were announced! That was pretty neat! I found my way to Marty (you’ll be seeing his name more often on this blog), and he had a huge hug waiting for me!  Don’t we all love a congratulatory hug after a race? Then as I looked at the Finish Line, I saw Mr. ScottyDog nearing his end! I congratulated him, we took a photo together, then he took one of Marty and I.

IMG_7079

It was a fun time! Again, everyone was so friendly… and ScottyDog was so cheerful! If you are wondering why I am referring to him as ScottyDog, I’ll link his blog down below – make sure you check it out! We talked to ScottyDog and another runner about different runs we were planning on participating in, then about 15 minutes later the Awards Ceremony started.

IMG_7074

I really wasn’t running for a medal, but I received 1st place in my age group! What! I was overly excited – this was the first time I had placed in a run.  Santa Clause, Mrs. Clause, Rudolph and the Young Marines were handing out the medals, that was most definitely a nice touch!

IMG_7071

The best thing about this event was the cause.  This was a run that benefited kids who are not fortunate enough to receive a gift for Christmas.  It was great to be a part of such a great run for a wonderful cause, and it was equally amazing to see other runners come together to run for the same cause! Even though it was a chilly day, the run was a heart-warming oneSo Purnell Racing, thank you for seeing the need and for doing what you do to fill it!

What is your favorite Charity Run to participate in? Are you signed up for any? If you are, leave a comment down below! And if you haven’t registered for a Charity Run – I highly recommend participating! It is extremely humbling.

Here is ScottyDog’s blog address http://scottydogreports.com/

As always, thanks for reading!

-Elizabeth

One thought on “Toys for Tots 5k

Leave a Reply

